SEPTEMBER 2021 UNIVERSITY ACTION GUIDE

Welcome to a new academic year! It's CRS University Chapter Fall Launch & Training season, and we are looking forward to seeing new and returning chapter members around the country this fall. If you haven't registered yet, make sure to register today!

This guide will help jumpstart your year and can be used flexibly to structure a chapter meeting or organize your plans for the fall and year ahead. We can't wait to see what you will do as leaders and advocates for the global common good as our world continues to be drastically affected by COVID-19. Keep an eye out on Instagram at @CRSUniversity, and tag us in what you're doing!

SEPTEMBER 2021: FALL KICK-OFF & LEAD THE WAY ON MIGRATION

OPENING PRAYER

COMMUNITY BUILDING

  • Share the Lead the Way Campaign video (en español)
  • Welcome any new CRS chapter members and invite them to share about what inspired them to be here and what they are most excited for.

  • Invite returning CRS chapter members to share about what continues to draw them back to this space. What kind of world do they hope to see? How do they hope to lead the way for their campus community this academic year to help bring that world about?.

REFLECTION – REFUGEES & MIGRANTS

Reflect on Pope Francis’ message for the 107th World Day of Migrants and Refugees, which we celebrate on September 26.

  • How might you build community in diversity within your life?

  • How can you manifest God’s love to those on the peripheries, especially migrants and refugees in our world, through your actions this month?

CRS Programming, Stories and Resources

We celebrate International Youth Day on August 12. Let us lead the way this month by celebrating the strength, wisdom and power of young people in our global family. Read, pray and act alongside our global family this month with the following resources.

This Month's Actions

Leadership

  • Utilize the 2021-2022 Chapters & Clubs Action Planning Tool to map out your chapter’s fall semester.
  • CRSU Fall Launch and Training: New and current university chapter members can register now for one of the dates listed below. For additional details and promotional materials, check out the CRS University Fall Launch and Training landing page.

    • Saturday, Sept. 18, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

    • Sunday, Sept. 19, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

    • Saturday, Sept. 25, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

    • Saturday, Oct. 2, 3 to 7 p.m. EDT | 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. CDT | noon to 4 p.m. PDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. HST

  • Visit the Upcoming Events page to see virtual events universities are holding. Notify your CRS Regional Representative if your campus is hosting a CRS-focused virtual event.

National Chapter Call

All chapter leaders, members and advisors are invited to participate live in this month’s National Chapter Call on September 11 at 1 P.M. EDT. The September call will feature a campaign-wide celebration of our most impactful August recess initiative to date.

  • If you do not receive the Zoom information on September 2 and would like to join, please email university@crs.org.
  • If you are unable to join live, the recording of the call will be sent via email to chapter leaders and advisors soon after the call concludes.

  • After watching the call (live or the recording), don’t forget to complete this month’s skill-building action sheet action 

Monthly Actions:

  • September Skill-building Action Sheet (en español)

    • Coach a friend or family member to write to their U.S. Senators urging them to increase international poverty-reducing development and humanitarian assistance in Fiscal Year 2022.

  • Plan a fall community giving event to support the overall mission and work of CRS.

    • Visit mobilizecrs.donordrive.com to explore ways that you can invite your whole community to give together.

    • Coming soon! Stay tuned for the comprehensive Community Giving Toolkit going live later this month.

    • Save the date: Community Giving Training on Thursday, October 14. Stay tuned for more information.

Optional: Invite your campus community to advocate for migrants and refugees by emailing their members of Congress on September 26 for World Day of Migrants and Refugees. Ask them to text CRSU MIGRATION to 306-44.

Emergency support:

  • A 7.2 magnitude earthquake in Haiti has killed more than 2,000 people and destroyed homes, leaving thousands without shelter. Your gift provides critical, immediate aid for our Haitian sisters and brothers. Donate here and invite others to help Haiti now.
  • The people of Afghanistan have lived through decades of conflict, poverty and uncertainty. When you give, you provide immediate assistance for your Afghan sisters and brothers who face this devastating situation. Donate here and invite others to help Afghanistan now.

REMINDERS AND NEXT STEPS:

  • Check back next month for a new Monthly Action Guide!

  • CRS Chapter Community Site Orientation Coming Soon! We are excited to announce that we are launching our new CRS Chapter Community Site this month. As the rollout begins, we will be inviting groups of chapter members to attend orientation sessions that will provide some basic tutorials and a site demo. Stay tuned for more information from your CRS Volunteer Manager.

  • Save the Date: We can’t wait to host you in Baltimore next summer – mark your calendars now to join us for SALT 2022 from July 24-27, 2022! Stay tuned for more information.

  • Ensure your CRS University Chapter is on our CRS email list by having everyone sign up here.

  • Ensure your CRS University Chapter is receiving our text message updates by texting “University” to 306-44.

CLOSING PRAYER

Lead The Way

Sign up to learn more.