CRS University Chapter Fall Launch & Training

Fall 2021 CRS University Chapter Launch and Training Details

Each fall, Catholic Relief Services offers free launch and training opportunities for U.S. university students and staff advisors to launch or strengthen their CRS University Chapter. These trainings empower chapter members, leaders and advisors to learn about pressing humanitarian issues, take meaningful action to address the root causes of these problems and support our global family.

Registration for the CRS University Chapter Launch and Training is now open. Register here, or view the details below for more information.

Who?

YOU!

  • New CRS University Chapter members, leaders and staff advisors are invited to attend.

  • Current members, leaders and advisors are also encouraged to join to receive a refresher for the upcoming year, reconnect with your chapter and support new members.

What?

The fall CRS University Chapter Launch and Training provides the information and tools needed to start a CRS Chapter on your campus or prepare your existing chapter for the upcoming academic year. With guest speakers, sessions on taking action, time to plan your year and more, you won’t want to miss this!

These annual trainings are an opportunity to:

  • Learn about CRS’ mission and our work around the world.

  • Build leadership and advocacy skills.

  • Connect with our campaigns on migration and hunger.

  • Learn how to take action on your campus.

  • Meet and network with other student leaders and campus staff and participate in a growing movement of colleges and universities across the country.

Where?

Both parts of the training below can take place virtually, in person on campus, or a hybrid method depending on campus safety guidelines. At your own discretion, chapters can also choose to gather in person with other local university chapters. 

  • Part 1: The first two hours of the training will be facilitated virtually by CRS staff and partners. Your chapter can gather together on campus to join online or you can encourage each individual to participate virtually in their own spaces.

  • Part 2: The second two hours of the training will be facilitated by your campus Staff Advisors and Student Leaders using materials from CRS. Your chapter can gather together on campus for this part or you can meet together online using a Zoom breakout room—simply stay on the Zoom call after Part 1 and you’ll be directed to your school’s breakout room.

When?

Choose one training from four opportunities in September and early October. We encourage your chapter members to participate in the same training, if possible:

  • Saturday, Sept. 18, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

  • Sunday, Sept. 19, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

  • Saturday, Sept. 25, noon to 4 p.m. EDT | 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. PDT

  • Saturday, Oct. 2, 3 to 7 p.m. EDT | 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. CDT | noon to 4 p.m. PDT | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. HST

Promotional Materials

Select a training date that works best for your campus and begin promoting it to current, potential and new members, leaders and advisors. Promotional flyer templates are available below for each training date and can be customized with your school’s information, including a training location and contact person. 

Promotional Flyers

Registration

Registration is now open! Even if your chapter will be completing the training together in person, each individual participant should still register separately for the training.

Register Now

Once registered, you will receive a zoom link and additional details for the training. Chapter advisors and student leaders will also receive materials and facilitation guides for the second part of the training. 

If for any reason you are unable to attend the training or need to switch training dates, please contact university@crs.org.

Please register at least one week prior to the anticipated training date. 

Already registered? Click here to access training preparation materials.

Lead The Way

Sign up to learn more.