AUGUST 2021 UNIVERSITY ACTION GUIDE

Review the CRS Summer University Action Guide to see how you can act in support of our global family to this month even if your chapter is not meeting..

Keep an eye out on Instagram at @CRSUniversity, and tag us in what you're doing!

August 2021: Lead for a Better Future

CRS Programming and Stories

We celebrate International Youth Day on August 12. Let us lead the way this month by celebrating the strength, wisdom and power of young people in our global family. Read, pray and act alongside our global family this month with the following resources.

This Month's Actions

Leadership

  • Visit the Upcoming Events website to see virtual events universities are holding. Notify your CRS Regional Representative if your campus is hosting a CRS-focused virtual event.

National Chapter Call

All chapter leaders, members and advisors are invited to participate live in this month’s National Chapter Call on August 14 at 1 P.M. EDT.

  • If you do not receive the Zoom information on August 6 and would like to join, please email university@crs.org.
  • If you are unable to join live, the recording of the call will be sent via email to chapter leaders and advisors soon after the call concludes.

  • After watching the call (live or the recording), don’t forget to complete this month’s skill-building action sheet action.

Advocacy

  • August Skill-building Action Sheet (en español)

    • Write a letter to the editor urging your U.S. Senators to increase international poverty-reducing development and humanitarian assistance in Fiscal Year 2022 (FY22).

    • Check out this Letter to the Editor training (40:20 mark) for extra support in writing your media piece.

  • Engage your member of Congress this August recess with a visit or by attending a town hall. To join an existing August recess visit, contact your CRS Regional Contact.

  • Begin to think about a fall community giving event. View these tips and guidance on How to Fundraise with CRS.

REMINDERS AND NEXT STEPS:

  • CRSU Fall Launch and Training: New and current university chapter members can register now for one of the dates listed below. For additional details and promotional materials, check out the CRS University Fall Launch and Training landing page.

    • Saturday, Sept. 18, noon to 4 P.M. EDT / 11 A.M. - 3 P.M. CDT / 9 A.M. - 1 P.M. PDT

    • Sunday, Sept. 19, noon to 4 P.M. EDT / 11 A.M. - 3 P.M. CDT / 9 A.M. - 1 P.M. PDT

    • Saturday, Sept. 25, noon to 4 P.M. EDT / 11 A.M. - 3 P.M. CDT / 9 A.M. - 1 P.M. PDT

    • Saturday, Oct. 2, 3-7 P.M. EDT / 2-6 P.M. CDT / 12-4 P.M. PDT

  • Graduated seniors: You're invited to join or start CRS Chapters from whatever city or community you are part of post-college. Email info@crs.org to continue collaborating in our work to end global poverty.

  • Ensure your CRS University Chapter is on our CRS email list by having everyone sign up here.

  • Ensure your CRS University Chapter is receiving our text message updates by texting “University” to 306-44. 

Lead The Way

Sign up to learn more.